Basic Granola Recipe

I noticed the other day, that I’ve never shared the recipe for my basic homemade granola. Oh, I’ve shared my:

but never my basic granola recipe, until today.

I first made this granola back in 2015 for a guest post on another site. Unfortunately, it’s no longer available there so I thought I would share it here, where it will be easy to find.

This is one of my favorite recipes to make for a simply delicious breakfast or when I need a quick snack on the go.

I hope y’all enjoy it too!

As always, if you do make this Basic Granola Recipe or any of my other granolas, please leave a comment below, or share it with me by tagging your Instagram with #sweetandspicymonkey, so I can see all the goodness you create in your kitchen. Happy Eating!

 This basic granola is so easy to make at home with just a few simple ingredients. Add in some of your favorite dried fruits, nuts, or chocolate chips for a totally different flavor. Refined sugar-free, gluten-free, Paleo friendly, and vegan.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 Tablespoons chia seeds
  • Dash of Himalayan pink sea salt
After Granola comes out of the oven add
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried fruit
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325F degrees.
  2. Prepare a cookie sheet by wiping down with a small amount of (your choice) coconut oil, sunflower oil, butter, or non-stick cooking spray. Wipe off any excess oil with a clean, dry paper towel. Doing this will help decrease any chance of burning your granola. Set prepared cookie sheet aside.
  3. Place coconut oil into a small bowl and microwave for about 40 seconds to melt coconut oil.
  4. In a large bowl, combine oats, honey, brown sugar, cinnamon, coconut oil, chia seeds, and salt.
  5. Spread granola evenly over prepared cookie sheet.
  6. Place into oven and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, stirring granola every 5 minutes. It’s very important to stir granola every 5 minutes, otherwise you will end up with burnt granola (just sayin, not like it happened to me or anything).
  7. Turn off oven and remove pan.
  8. Stir in chopped nuts, coconut, dried fruit. Let cool.
  9. Store in an airtight container.
  10. Can be used for breakfast cereal, mixed in with pancake mix, snacking, or as a topping for parfaits, yogurt, ice cream, or fruit cobblers.

Notes

  • Remember not all ovens are made the same, some run hotter than others. If you know your oven is hotter than most, please adjust the time accordingly. Less time for hot ovens, more time for ovens that don’t heat very well.

All content and images are property of Sweet and Spicy Monkey. Please do not reprint this content without my permission. If you wish to include this recipe on your site, please re-write in your own words and use your own photographs and link back to this post for original recipe.

Leave a comment