Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

Last week I experienced a bloggers worse nightmare, my laptop crashed.

Everything came to a screeching halt as that is my working computer. I don’t own a desktop computer. My laptop is my main lifeline to the World Wide Web. Everything for my blog, documents and photos, were on that laptop. Ugh!

I was able to purchase a new laptop that same day and after that it was a waiting game, waiting for it to arrive to my home so I could get back to sharing recipes with y’all.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

And then once it did get here, I had to figure out how it worked because this is the very first Apple laptop I have ever owned.

Yes, I went with Apple because I’ve heard so many good things about it.

Time will tell if it crashes on me too like my previous HP and Toshiba laptops.

Fingers crossed it lasts longer!

Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

While I was waiting on my new laptop, I made these delicious chocolate donuts.

I’m loving these donuts because not only are they easy to make (under 15 minutes to mix and bake) but they’re also good for you.

I adapted this recipe from Brandi at Bran Appetit, using white whole wheat flour, honey instead of sugar, coconut oil, less salt, and coconut milk.

So these donuts are refined sugar free, egg free, and dairy free.

Even the glaze is good for you as I used vanilla protein powder instead of powdered sugar.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

And unlike others who say “corn syrup is the only way to get your donut glaze to shine”, I say pffft.

Protein powder and coconut milk gives an excellent shiny glaze to my donuts, even after being refrigerated for a few days, they still maintained their shine.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

So you can eat these donuts and not feel guilty. Yes, guilt free donuts.

Go ahead and make these and eat them in front of your trainer, spouse, kids with no guilt.

But you might not want to tell them they’re a healthier donut because then they’ll disappear right before your eyes.

It will be our little secret.

These easy, baked Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts are not only delicious, but good for you too. Made with white whole wheat flour, coconut milk, coconut oil, honey, and flax seed these donuts are egg-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar-free.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup coconut milk, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup White Whole Wheat All-purpose flour
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 Tablespoon ground flax seed
  • 2 and 1/2 Tablespoons honey
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted
For the Chocolate Glaze:
  • 3/4 cup vanilla protein powder
  • 5 Tablespoons coconut milk
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees.
  2. Lightly grease donut pan with coconut oil or non-stick cooking spray. Set aside.
  3. Mix coconut milk and lemon juice together. Let sit for at least 5 minutes – this gives you coconut buttermilk!
  4. Add dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and flax seed) into a large mixing bowl and mix together with a fork or whisk.
  5. Stir in coconut milk, honey, and melted coconut oil with dry ingredients until all dry ingredients are combined.
  6. Drop batter into prepared donut pan.
  7. Bake for 10 to 13 minutes, or until donuts spring back when touched.
  8. Remove from the oven and let cool for about 10 minutes before turning donut pan over onto a wire rack and removing donuts from pan. Let cool completely before putting on chocolate glaze.
To Glaze Donuts:
  1. Mix protein powder, coconut milk, and cocoa powder together in a small bowl with either a wire whisk or fork. The cocoa powder takes a little longer to mix in, but keep on mixing and eventually you will see it start to blend with the other ingredients, about 3 to 5 minutes by hand.
  2. After mixture is combined, spoon chocolate glaze over donuts, covering tops, outter sides, and inner part of the donut completely.
Optional:
  1. Sprinkle the tops with coconut, chopped peanuts, colored sprinkles, mini m&m’s, or mini chocolate chips.

Notes

  • You can use chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla.
  • Make sure coconut milk is room temperature, otherwise coconut oil will clump together when added.
  • You can always warm up coconut milk in microwave for about 30 to 45 seconds to help bring it to room temperature.

All content and images are property of Sweet and Spicy Monkey. Please do not reprint this content without my permission. If you wish to include this recipe on your site, please re-write in your own words and use your own photographs and link back to this post for original recipe.

One thought on “Whole Wheat Chocolate Donuts

  1. I used Silk Coconut milk to make these donuts because I didn’t want all the fat from the canned coconut milk. I’m sure it will also work with canned coconut milk.

    Like

Leave a comment