Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookies

Copycat Chik fil A Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you ever tried a Chik-fil-A chocolate chunk cookie? It is one of the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had!

This new infatuation sent me on a mission of baking a copycat Chik-fil-A cookie myself, so I can have it whenever my little heart desires (which if you’ve ever had one, will be often!).

It’s a soft, giant cookie that has chocolate goodness in every bite. It’s like no other chocolate chip cookie I’ve had before!

Copycat Chik fil A Chocolate Chip Cookies

During my search for this recipe, I came across recipes that contained different ingredients. Some recipes had molasses or salt, while some did not.

I even came across one recipe with cinnamon, which I think was more of a personal preference, since I did not see cinnamon listed as one of the ingredients in Chik-fil-A chocolate chunk cookies.

I did try creating my own copycat recipe with dark chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chunks, but it didn’t have the same taste or texture as this recipe does.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a delicious chocolate chunk cookie, but it didn’t remind me of the original Chik-fil-A chocolate chunk cookie.

Copycat Chik fil A Chocolate Chip Cookies

So I went back to the first copycat recipe I found, added sea salt, molasses, and 60% semi-sweet chocolate chips. The cookie dough tasted delicious, but when I removed the cookies from the oven, they were flat like a piece of paper.

Poof! Like a magic act, spread out and flat! Although they were delicious, I started another batch of cookies, playing with the ingredients.

Again, flat cookies.

I added cornstarch to see if that would help them from spreading and flattening out. Fat chance.

I added more oats. Nope.

I even tried different brands of chocolate chips and chocolate chunks with no change.

I played with mixtures of dark brown sugar and light brown sugar.

I used different amounts of molasses and honey with no changes.

I was still ending up with flat cookies that weren’t soft and chewy like the original Chik-fil-A chocolate chunk cookie.

I even tried baking them at a lower oven temperature for a longer amount of time. Still flat and spreading like my waistline after all these cookies.

I lost count of how many batches of chocolate chunk cookies I made and I still have batches in my freezer for those days when I’m craving chocolate.

So, I went back and made them the way I did the first time and they turned out beautiful!

Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookie

How did I finally get my cookies to look and taste like the original Chik-fil-A chocolate chunk cookie, you ask? I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and light brown sugar. That’s it!

They didn’t spread out flat and they were soft and chewy, with all the flavor of the Chik-fil-A cookie.

I was doing my Happy Dance!!

Now who wants to come over and eat the rest of the cookie dough in my freezer?

*UPDATE*

Since I posted back in May of 2016, you might have recently seen another recipe for Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookies floating around on social media. That person stole my recipe word for word from my site and posted as her own recipe. She states she bought a book of Copycat recipes in a Facebook group (like that makes it any better). 

So I just want you to know that I am the original creator of this Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and any other post you might see with exact same ingredients as this one is a complete rip-off. 

Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 and 1/2 cups All-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup instant oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup Crisco
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/3 cups light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees.
  2. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, add flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda. Mix together with a fork or whisk. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, cream together Crisco and butter.
  5. Combine honey, vanilla, brown and white sugars with butter mixture. Beat in eggs.
  6. Gradually add in dry ingredients, mixing well.
  7. Fold in chocolate chips.
  8. Using a big ice cream scooper, scoop dough onto cookie sheets, placing about 2″ apart.
  9. Place bowl with unused dough in refrigerator between bakes.
  10. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, or until light golden brown.
  11. Remove from oven and let cool for 8 to 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  12. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

Notes

  • Do not substitute margarine for butter.
  • You can always freeze unused dough in a freezer-proof container for up to 3 months.
  • Because baking time varies from oven to oven, check cookies after 10 minutes.

Inspired by ~ Chik-fil-A.

All content and images are property of Sweet and Spicy Monkey. Please do not reprint this content without my permission. If you wish to include this recipe on your site, please re-write in your own words and use your own photographs and link back to this post for original recipe.

6 thoughts on “Copycat Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I made these with no added salt and unsalted butter because this recipe was the closest I could get to the original Chik-fil-A Chocolate Chip Cookie. If you want, you can add salt, but if you add salt, use unsalted butter. Or use salted butter with no adding of salt. You don’t want a salty cookie.

    Like

  2. So glad to find the original recipe author! This cookie recipe is fabulous! Thank you so much for experimenting and coming up with a wonderful copycat version! When I made this I weighed the dough to make 76 gram balls before baking six at a time. It made a total of 20 cookies this size. The only change I made was to increase the chocolate chips with one additional cup: 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup chunk semi-sweet chips.

    Like

Leave a comment